October 27, 2016
5.30 pm Onwards
Renaissance Hotel, Lucknow
  • Principal Partner
  • Presenting Partner
  • Title Partner
  • Platinum Partner
  • Gold Partner
  • Silver Partner



The New Indian Express believes that strong, independent women are the backbone of a nation. We have decided to act on our belief by organising a definitive event called Devi, which recognises and awards exceptional women from across the country who display dynamism and innovation in their work.

Our 'Devis' have been chosen through a rating process conducted by the senior editorial team of The New Indian Express and an independent jury, using transparent methodology. They have been selected on the basis of their contribution to their chosen line of work, as well as society in general. The rating process runs true to our motto of 'Favour None, Fear None'.

The Devis

Aparna KumarMountaineer, IPS Officer
Indu SubhashSocial Activist
Kumkum AdarshKathak Exponent
Malvika HariomSinger, Writer
Meera JatavEditor
Ministhy S NairIAS Officer
Sarojini AgarwalSocial Reformer
Sutapa SanyalIPS Officer
Dr Tulika ChandraMedical Practitioner

Photo Gallery

  • Akhilesh Yadav in conversation with TNIE Editorial Director Prabhu Chawla
    Aparna Kumar, Mountaineer and IPS Officer receives the award for scaling new heights
    Audience applaud the Devis
    Devi awardees with Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and Prabhu Chawla
    Dr Tulika Chandra, medical practitioner receives the award for helping save precious lives
    Indu Subhash, Social Activist receives the award for standing up for male and elderly rights
    Kumkum Adarsh, Kathak dancer receives the award for dancing up a storm
    Madhuri Sharma, folk singer receives the award for taking Mathura’s music to the world
    Malvika Hariom, singer receives the award for putting a song in everyone’s heart
    Ministhy S Nair, IAS officer receives the award for administrative excellence
  • Sarojini Agarwal, social reformer receives the award for mothering thousands of homeless girls
    Sutapa Sanyal, IPS officer receives the award for battling gender-based discrimination
    Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav inaugurates the event
    Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav addresses the audience
    Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav applauds the Devi Award winners




Express Building, 3rd Floor
9-10, Bahadurshah Zafar Marg
New Delhi-110002
Phone: +91 11 23705701-05

[email protected] [email protected]