September 14, 2018
6.30 pm Onwards
CMS Auditorium, Gomti Nagar Extension, Lucknow



It’s the worst of times. It’s the best of times. History tells us that the status of women in India has always yo-yoed. We started out on a high note in the ancient ages but saw a decline in status from medieval times, when a life of restrictions became the order of the day. The harassment refuses to go away. In 2018, India was ranked by the Thomson Reuters Foundation as the worst country in which to be a woman. Except for those with special access to privilege—and even they’re not immune to silent sexism—life for the Indian woman is tough, very tough. And yet, she perseveres. She seeks to live the life that’s promised to her by the Constitution, a life of equality, dignity and freedom from discrimination. Not just as a mother, wife, daughter or sister, but also as an individual working for something that excites her. She understands that victory is sweetest after the taste of defeat. And, sometimes, just sometimes, through hard work, ingenuity and an indomitable spirit, she beats the odds and gives the world a success story to celebrate.
It is this dynamism and never-say-die spirit that The Sunday Standard honours through its Devi Awards. The awards are designed to pay tribute to the exceptional women who, through their work in different sectors, are helping to build the backbone of the nation. We began the process in New Delhi in December 2014, and have since paid tribute to achievers from around the country. On September 14, 2018, we celebrated the wonderful women of Uttar Pradesh. It was the fourth edition of the awards in the state, and the 14th in the country.

The Devis

Agrimaa Arti SahuSocial Worker
Julie PandeySocio-Environment Activist
Nida KhanWomen’s Rights Activist
Poonam YadavWeightlifter
Shobha ThakurSocial Worker
Seema BhadauriaBotanist
Usha VishwakarmaWomen’s Rights Activist
Vanshika GuptaAnimal Activist
Dr Vibha AugustineGynaecologist

Photo Gallery

  • UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath arrives at the venue, and is escorted in by TNIE Editorial Director Prabhu Chawla and Managing Editor Shampa Kamath
    CMS founder Dr Gandhi, Prabhu Chawla, CMS president Geeta Gandhi Kindon and Principal Secretary Avanish Awasthi stand to attention for the playing of the National Song
    A very talented group of CMS teachers sing Vande Mataram
    Lighting of the inaugural lamp
    Rahul Kumar, President, Government Banking, Yes Bank, with Yogi Adityanath
    SK Shukla, Logistics Head Of Eastern India, India Glycols Ltd, with the Chief Minister
    Sunil Galgotia, Chairman of Galgotias University, presents the CM with a flower
    Agrimaa Arti Sahu receives the Devi award for her work as a hygiene revolutionist in Raebareli district
    Socio Environment activist Julie Pandey of Gonda won the award for her efforts towards water conservation and sanitation
    Singer Lyricist Kamla Srivastava with the CM and Prabhu Chawla
  • Nida Khan of Haq Foundation collects her award
    Yogi Adityanath presents the trophy to botanist Seema Bhadauria of Agra
    Animal activist Vanshika Gupta of Allahabad collects her award from the CM
    Gynaecologist Vibha Augustine gets the award for her remarkable work with expectant mothers in Sonbhadra
    Red Brigade founder Usha Vishwakarma collects the award for her battle for women's rights
    Roti Woman Shobha Thakur gets the award for her social work through the Roti Kapda Foundation
    Prabhu Chawla does an impromptu Sachchi Baat with the CM
    The Devis with the Chief Minister and Prabhu Chawla
    Archana Satish was the compere of the evening and did a spectacular job
    Packed house at the 4th edition of the Devi Awards for Uttar Pradesh





Express Building, 3rd Floor
9-10, Bahadurshah Zafar Marg
New Delhi-110002
Phone: +91 11 23705701-05